British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

Tigger77

Threepenny Bit 1961 Error (CuproNickel)?

Hi to all,

I am a beginner coin collecting world, started April 15, currently cutting my teeth on Pre Decimal and working back over. Loving it so far.

To start my collection off, I have been bulk buying to fill up Whitman Coin folders bought on eBay.

One of my bulk lots were Brass Threepenny Bits to which I found an unusually silver looking one. A QE II 1961. I have tried to research this as much as I can but only finding two sources which both mention that it may have been struck on a Hong Kong 10c Blank.

I was wondering if anyone has come across this error coin before or have anymore info on it ie. mintage history and potential value.

I have been in touch with The Royal Mint today to see if they have any info on this coin

Please see my uploads and see what you think

Thank you for reading and happy hunting

post-8794-0-62022100-1434145608_thumb.jp

post-8794-0-93994200-1434145611_thumb.jp

post-8794-0-94979900-1434145613_thumb.jp

post-8794-0-51473900-1434145615_thumb.jp

post-8794-0-86576300-1434145616_thumb.jp

I'm not sure that it was struck on a Hong Kong 10c planchet: according to http://en.numista.com/catalogue/pieces1574.html they're round not dodecagonal.

I'm inclined to think it's just been coated in a silver metal though I'm not sure how to non-destructively prove it.