British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

happyginger

1922 Penny with 1927 Reverse confirmation.

Hi everyone. I'm new to coin collecting so need some advice on a coin i found in a job lot. I believe it to be the 1922 Penny with the Britannia reverse from 1927 which i know is rare. It is a little rubbed but i believe the gap above the 1922 along with Britannias arm and the way it slopes up (along with it being thin and not muscly like the original 1922 reverse) gives it away. The border teeth seem to be rubbed however if you look next to the 1922 the teeth seem alot more obvious there. Can you please confirm if this is right or not? I have been made an very good offer by a dealer who is convinced it is right i just need to know whether or not to accept it and what the value is if its genuine?

• Like 1

Thanks Azda. Much appreciated. It turns out i was already using your website... its fantastic btw. Can you take a look yourself please and give me your own opinion as it seems legit? Kind Regards.

Hi Happy, it's not my collection, but a member of this Forum. I think one of the diagnostics is Britannians thumb Points downwards and the waves.

If you can turn the coin around so Britannia is pointing the right way round and get as Close as you can without the Picture blurring then maybe someone can also help as i'm about to head to work.