British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

scotsman

Hi as the title says I'm a newbie to the forum and coin collecting in general though I have coins from Edward 1st hammered pre decimal coins late modern and a liberty eagle silver dollar I do love silver coins, I like the look of the crowns I have a Victoria 1887 crown, double florin, half crown & shilling I'm looking to get 7 silver coins in that date and proceed down to the next monarch in turn, Just bought a 1849 Godless florin lovely coins couldn't resist I was looking for an 1887 Gothic but couldn't find a good one in my range so bought that instead I then did a search for a 1849 Crown and could not find one did they mint a 1849 Crown as stated I'm a newbie so assumed there would be a Crown for every year ? as you can see my taste are varied what ever catches my eye really, I've included a picture of the Florin if anyone could grade it I'd appreciate it as I have no idea on grades look forward to reading and chatting on the forums :)

post-8694-0-67384500-1425465025_thumb.jp

post-8694-0-84174500-1425465118_thumb.jp

In Victoria's reign there were only crowns minted for circulation in 1844, 1845, 1847 and 1887-1900. There were also proof crowns struck in 1839, 1853, 1887 and 1893.