British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

Sign in to follow this  
Guest Robina

1938 Darktone Penny

Guest Robina

Hi everyone,

Have just come across this forum,and really think this is just what I am looking for.Breifly,I have been collecting British pennies for about 40 years,what some would call a series collector.I have virtually every date from 1860 - 1070 in top grades.I was given the first edition of Check Your Change by my dad and then spent every waking hour looking for a 1933 penny.I never found one!

With me,collecting comes and goes.I go years buying absolutely nothing,then go crazy,go undercover.and spend a small fortune for a few months.

However,I digress. What I woukld like is anyones opinions on a few pennies I have that are unrecorded, and that I would welcome any second views on.The first is a 1946 DOT after ONE of ONE PENNY.It seems to be a mint identification mark,and was certainly used on other dates,but 1946 ?

The other coin is a mint darkened 1938.This was usual for 1944 45 & 46 but as far as I know,unheard of for this year.There is no mistaking the dark toning,as is is identical as for the other years. Does anyone have a similar coin.

Any thoughts are welcome.

Robina