British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

Vampire Writer

17th Century Coins

Hello all, this is my first post here so moderators if it doesn't go here please move it to the right place. My name is Rick and as you can tell from my user name I'm a writer - about vampires. Anyway, I am not a coin collector but I am wanting to get a couple of British coins. One of my main characters, Charlotte Ann, was born in 1606 ("before the first English settlers ever set foot in America, while James the First was the King of England ...") and I would like to get coins with the following dates - 1606 (her first birth), 1628 (her second birth), and for another of the main characters James, a colonial planter from Carolina, 1725 (his first birth), 1745, 1748, and 1753 (his second birth). I have been able to find a load of Spanish silver - and I know it was used worldwide - still, she and he were English. So what coins do I look for - Pound Sterling?? - how available are they and can you give me a price range.

I have found, and purchased, a Spanish 8 Maravedi (cooper) dated 1606 and am currently looking at a couple of different 1753 dated 8 Reales. The only 1606 and 1628 Reales I can find are hammered cobs and I would prefer to have a nicer coin. Any guidance, leadership, or advice you can give will be greatly appreciated. Thanks so much!

Sixpences dated 1606 are available.