British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

James1980

Total newbie question re 2005 sovereign

Hello all,

Firstly apologies for what what is probably a silly question and secondly, apologies that it’s regarding a modern coin. 

So a little background, I’m not a coin collector but I do trust gold more than the conservatives to provide me with a pension and for the obvious tax advantages I buy U.K. bullion coins. 

While browsing my usual online retailer I saw a 2005 Sovereign and purchased it as I will often “flip” sought after dates or designs to further add to the afore mentioned pension. 

So, the coin arrived and immeadiately I notice it’s in a plastic capsule which is not normal for my retailer but I didn’t think too much of it untill I got the coin out of the safe to show my daughter who dose take an interest in coin hunting/collecting. 

“This ones special daddy” was the considered response from her so I asked why and she pointed out that the relief was frosted as per the silver proof 50p’s I bought her to kick start her collection. 

After some brief online research (aka google images) I see that the bullion grade coins do not have this frosting and the only coins I’ve seen with this detail are proofs. 

So my question is this, have I stumbled upon the worlds cheapest 2005 proof coin (I paid 2% over spot) or is it a BU coin?