British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

I hope you will forgive my novice-like question on these - I am relatively new to proofs, only having started taking an interest over the last year, and the literature I have does not seem to give much detail about them, Questions seem to arise on this Forum frequently  regarding is it or is it not a proof, are any perceived hairlines from the dies or post-mint, and what is the difference (if any) between Specimen and Proof.

So I have on approval this 1902 matching Matt Proof set, which I like. I would assess the coins as 'virtually as struck ((but not fully FDC), problem-free, and matt proof'. I am running it past you guys as part of due diligence. They come with a matching Maundy set and the original box, which I have not pictured.

Any input very gratefully received :)

1902_set_pf_01_1300.jpg

what are your thoughts @VickySilver?

Edited by Paulus

Hi Paulus,

Had a look over your set there. I would say about an average set, which is not to say unattractive. They look to have the usual wipe, esp. the shilling near the lion on reverse. IMO, probably the most important surface of all of these would be the Crown obverse, and then the Crown reverse - the former looks good on this site. The florin is rather attractive as well.