British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

Sign in to follow this  
Mynki

Sorry to bore you all again - grading

Not a boring question at all, Mynki - we all have to come to terms with the 'grading question'.

Now, I'm more or less a complete newbie but comparing the strike & detail remaining against Rob's similar 1852 Florin (www.rpcoins.co.uk), I'd say this was more EF / gEF, although I may be dead wrong! (There may, for instance, be known issues with the '49 that I'm unaware of which would influence the grade).

For what it's worth, I think it's a pretty coin (a little too 'busy' for my taste), but my eye keeps getting drawn to the scar on the obverse. I guess, as with most things, it's all subjective but that's my two penneth'.

It might just be eyes but the pictures look more like a drawing rather than a photo, maybe photoshop?

They look un - enhanced to me, it's a combination of how they've been lit along with how both your eyes and your monitor resolve such high magnification.

9 hours ago, Mynki said:

Can I ask your opinion on this coin :-

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Victoria-Florin-1849-Uncirculated-6377-/161943088766

What do you all think, grade wise?

Thanks in advance.

I'd go for GEF/UNC - disappointing carbon spot in the O of FLORIN.

Nice coin generally, though 

• Like 2

I would say UNC.