British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

bhx7

Looking to grade my sixpence

Hi Everyone

I am not really a silver buyer but saw this and just liked the look of it.

Think I did OK but would be interested in the grade. Definately looks better in hand.

Thanks all in advance!

Brian

post-8845-0-88355600-1448401422_thumb.jp

My guess (I'm not an expert) would be VF+ to NEF

• Like 1

My guess (I'm not an expert) would be VF+ to NEF

That was my first impression too.

• Like 1

By way of comparison, here is my 1924 sixpence:

iOStfN.jpg

wscE8q.jpg
  • Like 1

Very nice.

Thanks guys totally appreciate your time in answering. So £8 including p&p was ok then.

Edited by bhx7

Thanks guys totally appreciate your time in answering. So £8 including p&p was ok then.

Yes, sounds like a fair price.

Sorry but I have to differ. With reference to Rotographics Standard Guide to Grading British coins I would grade the example of the 1924 sixpence at at least EF with the other example at UNC. I would give the higher grading as the wear on the King's ear is minimal and on the obverse the lion's nose has a similar amount of wear. As this is a 1924 dated coin the mint quality was beginning to improve and a coin in this condition minted in 1922 or earlier would probably be graded higher.

• Like 3

I would have put it at EF myself for the same reasons as ozjohn

• Like 1