British Coin Forum - Predecimal.com

50 Years of RotographicCoinpublications.com A Rotographic Imprint. Price guide reference book publishers since 1959. Lots of books on coins, banknotes and medals. Please visit and like Coin Publications on Facebook for offers and updates.

Coin Publications on Facebook

Rotographic    

The current range of books. Click the image above to see them on Amazon (printed and Kindle format). More info on coinpublications.com

predecimal.comPredecimal.com. One of the most popular websites on British pre-decimal coins, with hundreds of coins for sale, advice for beginners and interesting information.

AdamCurtis

1841 half crown help please

Hi I'm an amateur collector and was hoping somebody could give me a definitive way if finding out of this coin is authentic or not. It's an 1841 half crown (maybe)

DSC_0274_zpsp9brb6ig.jpgDSC_0276_zpscgvrd2nq.jpg

All help appreciated

Adam Curtis

Hi Adam, a warm welcome to the forum :)

As you may be aware, 1841 is a scarce data and IF this coin is authentic the Spink guide price is £1000 in Fine and £2250 in VF.

What is the weight of it?

The pictures could be better.

Let's start with where did you get it? Weight? Does it ring correctly for silver? What is the edge? The thickness at the rim?

Agreed, some of the obverse beading looks a bit dodgy though the central Vicky device not too bad and fairly crisp. The reverse, though blurry just does not look quite right. Not prepared to condemn though.

As I posted with the 3d post [that nobody seems to care about], I believe a coin like this has to be confirmed as the real thing as opposed to assuming good and then finding problems with it. I know that is a bit pessimistic, but hopefully safe in this day of increasingly improved counterfeiting.